FY18 CMAB/McKnight Individual Artist Award recipients

Artists are invited to apply for this award once each year in February. A panel of six arts professionals reviewed and scored each application individually. Applications with the highest average score were recommended to the CMAB Directors for awards.

At their March 8, 2018 board meeting, the CMAB Directors accepted the review panel’s recommendations.

The CMAB/McKnight Individual Artist Award provides up to seven (7) awards of $3,500 each to outstanding artists living in the Minnesota counties of Benton, Sherburne, Stearns or Wright. (Region 7W)  The purpose of the award is to recognize and support outstanding individual artists in various stages of their careers

Fiscal Year 2018 Individual Artist Award recipients are:

  • Lester Hoikka, Visual Arts/Sculptor – Wright County
  • Chloe Briggs, Visual Arts/Painter – Sherburne County
  • Sue Seeger, Visual Arts/Sculptor – Sherburne County
  • Karen Krey, Visual Arts/Mixed Media–Stearns County
  • Laura Ruprecht, Visual Arts/Glass Mosaic – Stearns County
  • Dennis Warner, Music/Singer/Songwriter – Stearns County
  • Marian Lyndgaard, Mixed Media/Painting – Stearns County

The 2018 Individual Artist Award Panelists volunteered an average of 15 hours reviewing applications.

Those volunteers included:
Paul Imholte - Known as the “stringman,” Paul sings and plays a dozen traditional instruments. He performs at festivals, schools and concerts across the United States. For the last ten years, Paul has been composing and recording instrumental music for the hammered dulcimer and songs about life in the Midwest. Along with his solo work, Paul plays in two other performing ensembles, Ring of Kerry and The Tarveys. Performances have taken Paul throughout the Midwest and from New York to California. He has released CDs of hammered dulcimer instrumentals and songs for children and adults.

Mary Opatz Herges- A visual artist who creates landscapes that are jewel-like depictions of sunlit fields and northern lakes, timeless in their appeal. The artist’s works begin on Baltic birch panels that are treated with layers of gesso, hand-sanded between each application to achieve a satin-like painting surface. A corporate designer who holds graduate degrees in printmaking, Mary uses the very early morning hours before work to paint at her studio, which is located in an old flatiron building in St. Cloud, MN.

Matthew Coppersmith- A photographer who has owned his own business since 1999 and attended Ashford University/Entrepreneurship, School of Communication Arts/Applied Photography. In 2015, he started another business, Coppersmith Customs, creating mixed media artwork with metal, wood and other found objects.

David Barthel - A Minnesota-based landscape/nature photographer with background in science/engineering who primarily focuses on landscapes in the Lake Superior region and American West. His process begins with a digital camera and his vision is further achieved through the use of sophisticated "digital darkroom" processing techniques. Some of the techniques involve blending multiple raw images of a scene, with varied exposure and/or focus, to overcome the camera's inability to "see" what I see.

Wes Hanvy- A cow veterinarian and author of “Puffer Fish Blues”, published in 2010 by North Star Press of St. Cloud MN. With no formal training in creative writing, Wes pays attention to good writing from a lifetime of omnivorous reading. Wes was awarded a CMAB Emerging Artist Award in 2016.

David Paul Lange, OSB – College of Saint Benedict Art Department faculty with a M.F.A., from Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville. Davis is a figurative sculptor with areas of interest in 3D/Drawing, Modern and Contemporary Art. David re-imagines ancient narratives for the 21st century and challenges himself to give new form to the familiar, often by juxtaposing unexpected elements with figurative references. He considers this kind of art making essential to his spiritual and religious growth.

The Central Minnesota Arts Board supports collaborative and innovative arts opportunities through partnerships and financial investments in Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, and Wright counties as one of eleven Regional Arts Councils designated by the Minnesota State Arts Board. We work with community partners to increase access to the unique cultural assets of Minnesota.